iMake Money: Surveys (CashCrate)

Rating:rank6_gold

Well, here it is, Cash Crate-this was actually my first survey “program” I guess you could call it, and I was pleasantly surprised when I found out how it worked for myself. In case you’re wondering, CashCrate is a simple, easy way for broke college students to make some extra cash while putting off studying and homework, in fact I try and take a few surveys on my phone while waiting in lines, waiting in traffic, or waiting in general.

Before you move on, please read this as it is sort of an introductory lesson and it lays out a list of things you should do first so that you can take less time and effort into completing the surveys.

General Review

I signed up with CashCrate about three months ago, and since then I’ve earned a nice chunk of change to put into my loan fund. Like many others, I discovered CashCrate by coming across a glowing review about it on someone’s blog. They talk about how easy it is and how it’s their favorite way to make money online. I’m usually pretty skeptical about these things, but curiosity got the best of me this time. I decided that the only way really find out was to sign up and try it out myself. Could it really live up to all the rosy pictures people paint about it?

The Good

It’s not a scam. You really do get paid to do things. In this case, you complete offers. Some of them are free, and some of them aren’t. For some offers, you just have to complete a form with your contact info. For others you have to sign up for a free trial and remember to cancel it before it’s over, so you don’t get charged. With a $10 minimum monthly payout, it doesn’t take much effort to get there. If you have a credit card, completing two of the free trial offers is enough to put you over $10.

The Bad

It’s boring and tedious. Unless your lifelong dream is to become a professional offer completer, you’ll probably get really bored with completing these offers. There are ways to automate some of the repetitive tasks like filling in your contact info, but you’re still filling out form after form. For most people, this gets old really fast. Also, keep in mind that you have to be responsible enough to cancel the trial offers before they are over. Otherwise, you’ll get charged a fee which will most likely end up costing you a lot more money than you’ve earned.

The Ugly

Spam. You’re giving out your contact info to companies, so obviously, they’re going to be contacting you to try to sell stuff. As if we’re not already bombarded by enough solicitors, completing these offers will inevitably result in even more. Be prepared for it by using a separate email account to complete the offers.

These are just my impressions of CashCrate so far. I feel that they’re a lot more honest than the reviews I’ve found on other sites. The offers are easy to complete, but it’s tedious. Some people may be able to handle this, but others may not. I think the only way to find out is to try it out for yourself.

The Practical

Ok, so are you ready? If so, disregard the review above…well not totally but I’ll tell you why later.

Remember the stuff we did with Firefox in the last post? Well here’s where it comes in handy.

  1. Sign up with CashCrate using the above banner, remember to use real credentials as this is how you will get paid.
  2. Once you do that, you’ll be directed to a page where you complete offers:offers
  3. For example purposes, I’ll select the exxon mobile survey (I generally shy away from surveys that require my credit card.)

exxon mobile surveysxipper1

sxipper 2

-Remember the Web of Trust Addon? Well it’ll be triggered here, just ignore it (as a general rule for CashCrate, you can go ahead and ignore WOT warnings since you don’t add personal info)

-Remember the Sxipper addon? Well here’s where it comes into play. In the second image you see the blue squares throughout the form, that shows that Sxipper has info for that field (if it’s gray then it does not). As shown in the third image, select the appropriate persona and double check the information and you’ll be clear to hit submit.

-Once you submit, do not go any further! You do not need to do anything else to get credit for the survey (not always the case though).

-Head back to cashcrate and take a look at your pending earnings

pending earnings

In general, you’ll receive an email within the hour confirming your survey and the money will no longer be pending…this is not always the case and if it stays pending, your best bet will be to try another survey.

exxon mobile survey confirmed

That’s basically it. However, in order to really rake in some good money, you’ll need to work the referral system a bit, which is not too hard. For each person you refer to CashCrate, you’ll receive 20% of your referrals’ earnings, and a $3.00 bonus for each referral who earns at least $10.

if you have any concerns, questions, or comments, feel free to leave them below

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://frugalpupil.wordpress.com/2009/09/15/imake-money-cashcrate/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. wow, pretty nice and in-depth review you’ve got here. I love how you pretty much walk us through what YOU do instead of writing a bunch of rubbish and giving us your referral code.

    This has been a great help, I’ve been trying to find out the truth about cashcrate for a while now and this is great…where’s your referral link btw so I can support your site while i make some $$ 🙂

    • Hey Kenyan, I really appreciate it.
      It’s been a journey of mine going through and finding such sites and as I explore, I’ll share my findings with you.

      To sign up under me (you are under no obligation to do so whatsoever) just click the banner at the top of the page. This not only allows me to share in a percentage of your earnings but it also enables me to communicate with you as part of my team.

      Thanks again Kenyan.

      J.R.


Leave a Reply

